Mercury Retrograde in Cancer

WE CAN BE HEROES

Since Betelgeuse lies at the heart of our Mercury journey, I think the theme of this retrograde is about the process of evolving from the young naive prince to overblown tyrant to wise wizard. It is about the development of the sacred masculine within us all, whether we are male or female. We may have to go through a stage of beating our chests and being overtly hormonal. There may be a few artistic tantrums, but none that cause lasting resentments. Mercury generally makes harmonious aspects throughout the whole period, apart from cutting the umbilical cord to mummy moon when it turned retrograde. Mercury trines to the North Node are about setting out on the right path with a portfolio of ideas under your arm, which have been created during the retrograde phase.

We started Mercury retrograde with some scrappy plans, wild and untamed. By the end of it, we have organised those misbehaving strands into something coherent. The Mercury retrograde chart did look like a rough diamond, much like raw Betelgeuse. The Mercury direct chart contains a reassuring Mercury trine the North Node on brilliant Spica as part of a Minor grand trine to the Moon. The Sun is giggling down from Alhena in the cheeky twins while Venus is superbly charming on Aldebaran, a most chivalrous knight. What a lovely happy ending. So folks, don’t get your knickers in a twist for this retrograde, for it will certainly be a picnic after everything that is passed. Think of it as a time where you can lock yourself away with a set of crayons and a book of fairytales as your therapy. You can play at having a relationship too, sending courtly love notes from afar until you are ready to blossom. It’s a time of childlike innocence and fun rehearsing for the serious reality that is to come when Mercury goes direct and all left-brained again. Enjoy the play-fighting while it lasts.

May 23 Mercury enters shadow zone at 24º 23’ Gemini
May 25 Mercury trine North Node
May 28 Mercury sextile Venus
May 29 Mercury enters Cancer decan 1
June 7 Mercury stations retrograde at 3º 10’ Cancer 11:56am GMT. 7:56am EDT 4:56am PDT. Mercury Square Moon
June 14 Mercury Rx combust Sun
June 17 Mercury Rx enters Gemini decan 3
June 19 Midpoint of retrograde period. Mercury Rx conjunct Sun. (Cazimi 11.51pm GMT, 6.51pm EDT, 3.51pm PDT)
June 25 Mercury Rx out of combustion
June 28 Mercury Rx trine North Node
July 1 Mercury Stations direct at 24º 23’ Gemini 12:50pm GMT, 8:50am EDT, 5.50am PDT
July 3 Mercury trine North Node
July 13 Mercury re-enters Cancer decan 1
July 16 Mercury leaves shadow zone at 3º 10’ Cancer

Mercury goes retrograde June 7 2014 and the traditional advice is “Don’t travel, Don’t sign contracts. Don’t marry. Don’t touch electrics!” But the whole Mercury retrograde cycle actually lasts eight weeks and happens three times, sometimes even four times in a year! That’s a long time to hide under the duvet and a real waste of a truly magical time. Mercury generally zips between two worlds, or rather, the two hemispheres of our brain. So during the retrograde period it feels like Mercury has gone down into the Underworld. In this realm closer to spirit we become more right-brain orientated. It is dark, so other senses are heightened. We will feel extra sensitive here, psychic even. Everything will seem hyper-real… you will notice things you had overlooked before. This will prompt you to re-evaluate, renovate, re-form, and re-invent. It’s true you might have to redo things, because Mercury will hit the same degree three times, but what this transit won’t let you do is to go into autopilot.

There are danger spots though. When Mercury is stationing retrograde we are at the wobbly stage where we are likely to slip-up, make mistakes, and misread anothers communications. But once we are over the threshold and into the Underworld, we can safely go about our business knowing we are in another realm. The same goes for when Mercury is stationing direct, just make sure you give your brain a few days to adjust back to solar thinking. The house in your natal chart that Mercury retrogrades in, will be your Underworld zone. There you will question everything. It will make you jittery about signing contracts, because you will be constantly thinking, “Is this what I really want?”. Before the retrograde, is a good time to finish off those Solar left-brain projects and gather information to bring down into your cave at its retrograde point. Then you can slow things down, let yourself be taken into other dimensions, try on different filters, experiment, shine a light on your demons, then recharge and reboot.

—-Marina Macario

This entry was posted in Astrological Highlight and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.